NATO member states have signed the Accession Protocols for Sweden and Finland

Sweden and Finland apply for NATO membership / Photo EPN / Newscom / Profimedia

Thirty NATO allies today signed the accession protocol for Finland and Sweden, which allows them to join the Alliance after the parliaments of the member states ratify the decision.
- This is a good day for Finland and Sweden and a good day for NATO. This is truly a historic moment, with 32 nations at the table we will be even stronger, and our people will be even more confident as we face the biggest security crisis in the past decades, said NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg.

The protocol means Finland and Sweden can participate in NATO meetings and have greater access to intelligence, but will not be protected by the alliance's defense clause that an attack on one ally is an attack on all, pending ratification. the ratification process can take up to a year

Video of the day