Seven APEC leaders urge Russia to end hostilities in Ukraine

Putin at the APEC video summit on / November 12, 2021 / Photo; EPA-EFE / MIKHAIL METZEL / KREMLIN / SPUTNIK / POOL MANDATORY CREDIT

Representatives of seven countries, including those who left a meeting of Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) economy ministers to protest Russia's attack on Ukraine, have called on Russia to immediately end hostilities.

Representatives of the United States, Australia, Canada, Chile, Japan, South Korea and New Zealand issued a joint statement expressing deep concern over the humanitarian crisis in Ukraine.

"Reaffirming the importance of a rule-based international order supporting an open, dynamic, resilient and peaceful Asia-Pacific region, we strongly urge Russia to immediately cease its use of force and to withdraw all and all of its military forces from Ukraine immediately and unconditionally." , states in a statement delivered by the seven countries.

Representatives of some countries left the meeting when Russian Economy Minister Maxim Reshetnikov spoke at the opening of a two-day APEC meeting in which 21 countries are members. Delegations from five countries returned to the meeting after Reshetnikov's speech.

Video of the day