Eight EU countries have called for sanctions against the Russian justice system over Navalny's death

EU Brussels / Photo: MIA

Eight EU countries have called for sanctions against prosecutors, courts and prison officials in Russia over the death of Kremlin critic Alexei Navalny earlier this month.

The letter sent to the EU's foreign policy and security chief, Josep Borrell, was signed by the foreign ministers of the Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, Lithuania, Latvia, Poland, Sweden and Romania. However, officials said the letter was also supported by the Netherlands, France, Ireland and Denmark.

"Mr. Navalny's death is another signal of the accelerated and systematic repressions in Russia." This requires collective action. We believe that there are serious grounds for a special regime of sanctions, specific to Russia and adapted to the situation in the country," the foreign ministers wrote.

"The new regime will provide a solid legal basis for listing individuals from Russia's repressive state apparatus, including those who participate in politically motivated trials against members of civil society and the democratic opposition and their subsequent detention, as those responsible in the chain of justice ( prosecutors, courts, prison officials)," the letter added.

Dear reader,

Our access to web content is free, because we believe in equality in information, regardless of whether someone can pay or not. Therefore, in order to continue our work, we ask for the support of our community of readers by financially supporting the Free Press. Become a member of Sloboden Pechat to help the facilities that will enable us to deliver long-term and quality information and TOGETHER let's ensure a free and independent voice that will ALWAYS BE ON THE PEOPLE'S SIDE.


Video of the day