F1 calendar for next season released, a record 23 races

The F1 season in 2022 will start with the race for the Bahrain Grand Prix / Photo: EPA-EFE / Szilard Koszticsak

The International Automobile Federation (FIA) today announced the calendar for next season in Formula 1, which includes a record 23 races.

The championship will start with the Bahrain Grand Prix on March 20, 2022, followed by the Grand Prix of Saudi Arabia (March 27) and Australia (April 10).

The Australians will host for the first time since 2019, and their races in the last two years have been canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

A new race in the calendar will be the Miami Grand Prix (May 8), and after 2019, Japan, Canada and Singapore will return to the calendar.

Next season, there will be no Grand Prix races in Styria, Portugal, Qatar and Turkey (hosts this season).

There are six races left until the end of the current season, the leader in the general classification is the driver of "Red Bull", Max Ferstappen (262,5 points), while the current champion Lewis Hamilton from "Mercedes" is second with 256,5 points.

Video of the day