Australia imposes travel restrictions on nine South African countries

Melbourne, Australia during Covid Lockdown EPA-EFE / DANIEL POCKETT

Australia today imposed restrictions on people living in nine South African countries over concerns about a new strain of the coronavirus "omicron", with the government seeking a 14-day quarantine for Australians returning from those countries, Health Minister Greg Hunt said.

Countries subject to the restrictions are South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, Seychelles, Malawi and Mozambique.

"Any person who is not an Australian citizen or dependent, and has been to African countries where the omicron strain has been discovered and spread in the last 14 days, will not be able to enter Australia," Hunt said.

Source: MIA

Video of the day